IPL 2023 Venues List

If this isn’t the IPL season, eh? Each year, the IPL season brings love, joy, and excitement among cricket fans worldwide, especially Indian cricket fans. International cricket fans have to watch IPL from their TV screens. Or if they are lucky, they can fly to India and watch it in the stadiums. But if you are an Indian, the IPL means going to the stadium and having the time of your life. But where can you go and watch the IPL matches? Per the official website, there are six different venues where cricket fans can go and enjoy the IPL16. We will briefly discuss these stadiums in this article.

The IPL Opening Ceremony 2023 Live Streaming will be available.

Stadium Capacity
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium50000
Eden Gardens66000
Wankhede Stadium33108
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium40000
Arun Jaitley Stadium41842
DY Patil Sports Stadium60000
Narendra Modi Stadium132000
BRSABV Ekanna Cricket Stadium50000
IS Bindra Stadium27000
Sawai Mansingh Stadium30000

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

It was built in 1916 and is the nation’s second oldest cricket venue, behind Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The venue, previously called the Madras Cricket Club Ground, is dedicated to M. A. Chidambaram Chettiar, past president of the BCCI and President of the TNCA. It is the official venue of the Tamil Nadu cricket team and the Chennai Super Kings.

LocationWallajah Road, Chepauk, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
TeamChennai Super Kings

Eden Gardens

Eden Gardens is a cricket venue located in Kolkata, India. It was built in 1864 and is the oldest and 2nd largest cricket ground in India, as well as the 3rd largest in the globe. Eden Gardens has held significant international tournaments such as the World Cup, World Twenty20, and Asia Cup. Eden Gardens is widely regarded as the home of Indian cricket.

LocationKolkata, West Bengal, India
OwnerEastern Command
TeamKolakata Knight Riders

Wankhede Stadium

It is the home field of the Mumbai cricket team and the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. This venue houses the headquarters of the BCCI, IPL, and the Mumbai Cricket Association, as well as the Cricket Academy. It is one of the world’s tiniest cricket grounds regarding playing field space. In the past, the venue has played home to several high-profile cricket matches.

LocationMumbai, India
TeamMumbai Indians

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium is a cricket venue in Bangalore, Karnataka. It was initially named the Karnataka State Cricket Association Ground. The venue is the Karnataka state cricket team’s headquarters and the IPL club Royal Challengers Bangalore. Originally called the Karnataka State Cricket Association Grounds, it was renamed in honor of Mangalam Chinnaswamy, a Mandya attorney who was a founder of the Mysore State Cricket Association. It is the globe’s inaugural cricket stadium to employ solar panels to provide the majority of the power required to run the facility.

LocationBangalore, India
TeamRoyal Challengers Bangalore

Arun Jaitley Stadium

The Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, dubbed after the neighboring Kotla fort, was built in 1883. After the demise of the previous DDCA President and Finance Minister, Arun Jaitley, on August 24, 2019, the venue was titled in his honor on September 12, 2019. After Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, it is India’s second oldest operational international cricket ground. The Arun Jaitley Venue is a cricket ground maintained and administered by the Delhi Cricket Association.

LocationDelhi, India
TeamDelhi Capitals

DY Patil Sports Stadium

The D. Y. Patil Stadium, frequently referred to as the DY Patil Sports Stadium, is a multi-purpose venue located on the D. Y. Patil complex in Nerul, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India. It is a privately run stadium that serves as the headquarters of D.Y. Patil Sports Academy. It is mainly a cricket venue but is also used for various other events, including music and special events. The arena was formally opened on March 4, 2008, and was the temporary headquarters of the IPL franchise Mumbai Indians. The stadium’s cantilever top, which avoids the requirement for any pillars, provides fans with an unimpeded sight of the game from any location within the stadium.

We also Updated IPL 2023 Schedule PDF Download.

LocationMumbai, India
OwnerVijay Patil, D. Y. Patil Sports Academy
TeamMI (Temporarily)

Narendra Modi Stadium

The Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Ground, now known as the Narendra Modi Stadium, is a cricket ground in Ahmedabad, India. With a total capacity of 132,000, it is the world’s largest cricket ground. The stadium was completed in 1983 and rebuilt for the first time in 2006.

It evolved into the city’s usual location for international games. The Gujarat Cricket Association named the venue the Narendra Modi Stadium on February 24, 2021, honoring India’s current Prime Minister, Narendra Modi.

LocationMotera, Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
OwnerGujarat Cricket Association
TeamGujarat Titans

BRSABV Ekanna Cricket Stadium

Ekana Cricket Stadium is a cricket ground in the Indian city of Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. It is a public-private collaboration facility that hosts Test, ODI, T20I, the IPL, and numerous other local championships and cricket events. The facility has the largest straight boundaries compared to other venues in India.

Since the 2023 edition, it will also function as the home ground for the IPL team Lucknow Super Giants. The BCCI authorized it as Afghanistan’s third home ground in India in July 2019.

LocationEkana Sportz City, Gomti Nagar Extension, Lucknow, India
OwnerEkana Sportz City
TeamLucknow Super Giants

IS Bindra Stadium

IS Bindra Stadium is a cricket ground in Mohali, Punjab. It is commonly known as the Mohali Stadium. The stadium required approximately 25 crore and three years to build. The spotlights here are unusual compared to other cricket grounds because the light towers are quite short. This is done to prevent planes from the adjacent Chandigarh airport from crashing with the lighting columns. That is why there are 16 floodlights in the ground.

LocationMohali, Punjab, India
OwnerPunjab Cricket Association
TeamPunjab Kings

Sawai Mansingh Stadium

This cricket ground is in the Indian city of Jaipur. It was titled after the previous Emperor of Jaipur, Sawai Man Singh II. It is located at one of the PKMB’s corners. The venue has a capacity of 30,000 people.

The arena had a substantial refurbishment in 2006, costing Rs 400 million. For Rs 7 crore, a world-class cricket facility with 28 furnished rooms, a gymnasium, a café, two meeting rooms, and a pool was erected.

LocationJaipur(Pink City), Rajasthan, India
OwnerRajasthan Cricket Association
TeamRajasthan Royals

Final words

All of these cricket stadiums will be lit by the fun and action of the IPL. All year, cricket fans have waited anxiously for these days, and they are finally here. I am sure you will be amazed to see the bustling crowd in Eden gardens or the passion of fans from Wankhede. If you are in India, grab your tickets for IPL now!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *