Major League Cricket Teams

The inaugural season of Major League Cricket is just around the corner. This time, six teams will go toe to toe against each other for the first-ever MLC win. While the U.S. fans are gearing up for this exciting tournament, the teams are not behind in preparing to put up a great show. The teams have drafted players from around the world and local talent. This will boost their morale and help them plan things further before they will host the 2024 T20 world cup alongside the West Indies.

READ: Major League Cricket Schedule 2023

In this article, we will talk about the teams participating this year. So are you ready? I bet you are! Let’s begin

Major League Cricket Teams

We have already told you there will be six teams this year, and the plans are to expand the tournament to 8 units. American Cricket Enterprises (ACE) will own all the teams, while investors will be assigned one group. ACE will hold the sole ownership of the teams for now. The president of ACE identified the areas where cricket was most popular, and teams have been made according to that standard.

ALSO CHECK: Major League Cricket Live Streaming 2023

The following are the teams for this year’s MLC:

  1. Los Angeles Knight Riders
  2. MI New York
  3. San Francisco Unicorns
  4. Seattle Orcas
  5. Texas Super Kings
  6. Washington Freedom

Now, let’s dig a bit deeper into each team.

Los Angeles Knight Riders

Founded back in 2020, LA Knight Riders is an MLC team that represents the city of Los Angeles. Here’s a summary before we discuss them in detail.

Team LA Knight Riders
City Los Angeles
Color Purple and Gold
Founded 2020

Currently, the team plans to have the stadium at the Grand Park as their headquarters. That is one of the only stadiums that is available for professional cricket. And most probably, it will be used in the ICC events as well.

The ownership of the LA Knight Riders was granted to the Knight Riders Group due to their purchase of a share in Major League Cricket, which that organization disclosed in December 2020.

Before the start of the inaugural season, it was revealed that the first domestic draft for the MLC would occur on March 19, 2023.

Here is the team as of right now.

Name Nationality
Unmukt Chand India
Jaskaran Malhotra United States
Nitish Kumar Canada
Saif Badar Pakistan
Ali Sheikh United States
Shadley van Schalkwyk South Africa
Bhaskar Yadram Guyana
Ali Khan United States
Corne Dry South Africa

MI New York

Let’s come to another team owned by one of the IPL franchises. MI New York, as the name implies, represents New York. You can also say that it also means Mumbai Indians.

IPL is making cricket global, one way or the other.

Here are a few details about MI New York

Team MI New York
City New York
Owners India Win Sports
Founded 2023

Not much is known about the franchise, as it was founded recently. We will keep you updated regarding the content. Let’s see the players they drafted for this season.

Name Nationality
Steven Taylor USA
Hammad Azam Pakistan
Ehsan Adil Pakistan
Nosthush Kenjige USA
Monank Patel USA
Sarabjit Ladda Indian
Shayan Jahangir USA
Kyle Phillip USA
Saideep Ganesh USA

San Francisco Unicorns

The next team on the list is San Francisco Unicorns. Here is a quick preview of them

Team San Francisco Unicorns
City San Francisco
Home Santa Clara County Fairgrounds Stadium
Founded 2023

This is a new team as well. They are planning to have Santa Clara County Fairgrounds Stadium as their home ground. The stadium is still under planning, so all the matches, for now, will be played in Dallas.

Here is the squad for the Unicorns.

Name Nationality
Aaron Finch (c) Australia
Marcus Stoinis Australia
Corey Anderson New Zealand
Liam Plunkett England
Tajinder Singh India
Chaitanya Bishnoi India
Carmi le Roux South Africa
Brody Couch Australia
David White South Africa
Smit Patel (wk) India
Sanjay Krishnamurthi USA

Seattle Orcas

It is time for the Orcas! The team was the fruit of a long struggle to support cricket in Seattle. Here is a brief introduction before we dive deeper into their lore

Team San Francisco Unicorns
City San Francisco
Colors Black, white, and light green
Founded 2023
Home Ground Marymoor Cricket Community Park

The Bellevue City Council approved a resolution in November 2021 to support more investigation regarding the price and viability of a cricket facility in Seattle.

The Redmond City Council then accepted a similar resolution in January 2022. In February 2022, King County approved a vote to create a cricket field in Marymoor Park. Somasegar and Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella were among some of the critical backers in Major League Cricket’s U.S. expansion, according to a May 2022 announcement from Major League Cricket.

Further details of the team were announced during the draft.

Additionally, it was revealed that the group would collaborate with the GMR Group, joint owners of the Indian Premier League’s Delhi Capitals.

Here is the squad

Name Nationality
Mitchell Marsh Australia
Quinton de Kock (wk) South Africa
Harmeet Singh USA
Shehan Jayasuriya Sri Lanka
Shubham Ranjane USA
Cameron Gannon USA
Aaron Jones USA
Nauman Anwar Pakistan
Phani Simhadri India
Angelo Perera Sri Lanka
Matthew Tromp South Africa

Texas Super Kings

It is time to talk about the Texas Super Kings. They will have a massive home advantage as most matches are on their home ground. As their name implies, this is also a team owned by an IPL franchise.

Team Texas Super Kings
City Grand Prairie, Texas, U.S.
Color Yellow
Founded 2023
Coach  Stephan Fleming

The franchise, which has its home base in Dallas, Texas, was made public as one of the six founding teams for Major League Cricket in 2023.

The Chennai Super Kings, Ross Perot Jr., and Anurag Jain all share ownership of this company.

The Super Kings later selected players, including Sami Aslam, Calvin Savage, and Milind Kumar, during the draft. Now that we are on that topic let’s see the players they selected.

Name Country
Rusty Theron USA
Calvin Savage South Africa
Lahiru Milantha Sri Lanka
Milind Kumar India
Sami Aslam Pakistan
Cameron Stevenson USA
Cody Chetty South Africa
Zia Shahzad Pakistan
Saiteja Mukkamalla USA

Washington Freedom

Seems like a poetic name. The capital boys are in the town representing their city in the first-ever Major League Cricket. Let’s have a look.

Team Washington Freedom
City Washington, D.C
Color Red, white, and blue
Founded 2023
Coach  Greg Shipperd
Captain  Moises Henriques
Owner Sanjay Govil

Major League Cricket said in May 2022 that it had raised $120 million from several different sponsors in the US.  Sanjay Govil, who was subsequently revealed to be the principal financier and operator of the franchise team headquartered in Washington, DC, was one of these backers.

Here is the squad

Name Country
Wanindu Hasaranga Sri Lanka
Anrich Nortje South Africa
Andries Gous (wk) South Africa
Mukhtar Ahmed Pakistan
Obus Pienaar South Africa
Saurabh Netravalkar USA
Saad Ali Pakistan
Dane Piedt South Africa
Sujith Gowda India
Justin Dill South Africa
Akhilesh Bodugum India

Parting thoughts

The tournament seems to be pretty exciting with all of these teams. As you can see, most of the sponsors are from IPL so that things will get even more exciting. It is also noteworthy that despite the backers being the same as in the IPL, the had no hesitation in choosing Pakistan players. This is exciting progress.

Overall, if you are a cricket fan living in the US, this has to be the best thing for you. Now go and fill the Dallas city hotels as there should be no seats empty during the tournament.

We have also updated Major League Cricket wants Pakistani boys in action.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *