UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants Match 8 highlights – WPL 2024

UP Warriorz and Gujarat Giants faced off against each other on 1 March 2024. Another crushing defeat for the Gujarat Giants, while UP won by 6 wickets at hand. Remember that we also hailed UP as the best team in our WPL predictions. This article will tell you about everything that happened in this match. Hopefully, you will know this match’s essential twists and turns even though you didn’t watch it. So without any further ado, let’s get right into it.

Match details

Match 8
VenueM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Date1 March 2024
MatchUP Warriroz v Gujarat Giants
UmpiresGayathri Venugopalan
P Jayapal
TV UmpireAbhijeet Bengeri
Reserve UmpireVrinda Rathi
Match RefereeAnupa Narvekar

Playing 11

Gujarat GiantsUP Warriorz
Harleen DeolAlyssa Healy
Beth MooneyKiran Navgire
Laura WolvaardtChamari Athapaththu
Phoebe LitchfieldGrace Harris
Ashleigh GardnerDeepti Sharma
Dayalan HemalathaShweta Sehrawat
Kathryn BrycePoonam Khemnar
Sneh RanaSaima Thakor
Tanuja KanwarSophie Ecclestone
Mannat KashyapAnjali Sarvani
Meghna SinghRajeshwari Gayakwad

1st Innings

  • Gujarat Giants had a much stronger batting performance, scoring their highest total in three games, although it was still below standard.
  • The introduction of Wolvaardt provided some steadiness at the top of the order.
  • The Giants got off to a solid start, but they were unable to acquire that extra level. Harleen got trapped at one end, putting pressure on the batters coming in.
  • Litchfield and Gardner hit a couple of boundaries, but they were bowled out in the final over of the innings, and the Giants were unable to get above 160.
  • UP Warriorz must like chasing it down and winning back-to-back games.

2nd Innings

  • Grace Harris and Deepti Sharma have once again led their team to victory.
  • They did it last game, and they will do it again tonight.
  • Navgire had fallen early, but Healy was in excellent form; she raced away on the powerplay before being rejected by Bryce.
  • Chamari appeared and made an appearance before this duo guaranteed there were no worries.
  • The game became close when Sehrawat tumbled, but Grace Harris was in terrific shape because to her power hitting.
  • Worries for Gujarat, who are at the bottom of the standings following three consecutive losses.

Match summary

UPW won the toss and chose to field first. 
Phoebe Litchfield 35 (26)Sophie Ecclestone 3-20
Ashleigh Gardner 30 (17)Rajeshwari Gayakwad 1-33
Laura Wolvaardt 28 (26)Chamari Athapaththu 0-19
TARGET = 143 runs
Grace Harris 60 (33)Tanuja Kanwar 2-23
Alyssa Healy 33 (21)Meghna Singh 1-39
Chamari Athapaththu 17 (11)Kathryn Bryce 1-19
RESULT =  UP won by 6 wickets
PoM = Grace Harris

Player of the match award

Grace Harris won the player of the match for her amazing performance. It seems like deja vu because she was the player of the match last year against GG as well. What a co-incidence!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *