WPL: Mumbai Indians Women v Royal Challengers Women – Match 9 2024 highlights

Mumbai Indians won the 9th match against RCB Women. The RCB women are going through a tough time after their initial win in the WPL 2024. And their poor form continued in this match. The Mumbai Indians are at the top of the points table after their thrashing 7-wicket win against the RCB Women.

If you want to know what happened in detail, continue reading.

Match Details

VenueM.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Date2 March 2024
Time7:30 pm IST
MatchMumbai Indians Women vs RCB Women
UmpiresMohit Krishnadas
Pashchim Pathak
TV UmpireAbhijit Bhattacharya
Reserve UmpireSanjay Kumar Singh
Match RefereeVarsha Nagre

Playing 11

Royal Challengers Bangalore WomenMumbai Indians Women
Smriti Mandhana (c)Hayley Matthews
Sophie DevineYastika Bhatia (w)
Sabbhineni MeghanaNat Sciver-Brunt (c)
Ellyse PerryAmelia Kerr
Richa Ghosh (w)Pooja Vastrakar
Sophie MolineuxIssy Wong
Georgia WarehamS Sajana
Shreyanka PatilAmanjot Kaur
Simran BahadurHumaira Kazi
Asha SobhanaKeerthana Balakrishnan
Renuka Thakur SinghSaika Ishaque

1st Innings

  • RCB finished with a lower-than-average score. The pitch is a touch sticky and sluggish, but I believe 150 would have sufficed.
  • The hosts lost their captain, Mandhana, soon after being put in the batting order.
  • Meghana and Devine were both withdrawn during the powerplay and sent to the back foot.
  • MI maintained the pressure in the middle overs, chipping away at the wickets. Perry and Wareham came together and put up a 52-run stand for the sixth wicket to get their team out of a jam.
  • They pushed a few limits, laying the groundwork for them to capitalize on the deathovers. However, they couldn’t make it count.

2nd Innings

  • Things went in Mumbai’s favour today. From the toss, limiting the hosts to a below-par total and then putting on a dominant performance with the bat.
  • They also make it 3–3 versus RCB. RCB scored 14 boundaries in all, while Mumbai struck 22 boundaries with 7 wickets in hand and roughly 5 overs remaining.


RCB won the toss, and they chose to bat first
RCB women 131-6
Ellyse Perry 44 (38)Pooja Vastrakar 2-14
Wareham 27 (20)Nat Sciver-Brunt 2-27
Molineux 12 (14)Saika Ishaque 1-9
TARGET = 132 runs
MI women 133-3
Amelia Kerr 40 (24)Shreyanka Patil 1-15
Hayley Matthews 26 (21)
Yastika Bhatia 31 (15)
RESULT = MI Women won by 7 wickets
PoM = Amelia Kerr

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *